Service

Updated February 16, 2017

Terms of Service

These terms and conditions create a contract between you and Storyville (the “Agreement”). Please read the Agreement carefully.

This Agreement governs your use of the Storyville App (“Storyville”), and the short stories that it provides (“Content”).

Storyville allows you to purchase access to Content on a subscription basis (“Paid Subscriptions”). Paid Subscriptions automatically renew until cancelled in the Manage Subscriptions section of your Apple account settings. Apple will notify you if the price of a Paid Subscription increases and, if required, seek your consent to continue. You will be charged no more than 24 hours prior to the start of the latest Paid Subscription period.

Storyville is a six-month auto-renewable subscriptions service that provides one short story to you App each week for a cost of $4.99.

The stories can appear on multiple devices so long as you have registered your App with Storyville by creating a user name and password.

Subscription

The six-month auto-renewable subscription iPad and iPhone costs $4.99 and you will receive:

  • Twenty-plus stories, with a new story delivered each week
  • An archive that will remain for the length of your subscription
  • Stories by award-winning authors published by top independent and literary presses
  • New stories, from singular voices, that are ours exclusively
  • Unearthed gems by famous masters of the form, like D.H. Lawrence and Franz Kafka
  • An easy to use interface with alerts and changeable settings
  • Social media integration that will offer a chance to share your favorites with your friends

Q: How often do I receive a new story?
A: A new story is published once a week, except holiday weeks.

Q: How long do I keep stories?
A: You keep the stories past the end of your subscription so long the App is not deleted from you iPhone or iPad.

Q: When do I start receiving stories?
A: Once you have downloaded the app, you will receive new stories from that week forward. During the six-month subscription you will receive stories delivered to your mobile device each Tuesday. If you sign up in the middle of the month, you will receive that month’s stories upon download. Prior month’s stories are not available.

Q: How do I know when my subscription will end?
A: Go to the Alert button in the app. You will see the end date of the subscription. You may renew the subscription by using the Renew Button.

Q: What happens if my subscription ends?
A: If your Storyville subscription ends you will stop receiving new content. All existing content will remain accessible on your iPhone so long as you do not delete the app. You may subscribe again by going to the App Store.

Q: How do I receive my subscription on more than one device, say an iPhone and iPad?
A. Go to “settings” in your device.  Register with Storyville with a username and password.  When you sync your second device you will need to login using the username and password.

How the App works

Q: How do I turn the pages.
A: To go forward swipe the screen right to left. To go backwards, swipe the screen left to right.

Q: How do I know I have received a story?
A: When a new story is available, you will receive a push notification. The badge count on the Storyville icon will show all the new stories that you have received and not yet opened.

Q: What happens if I lose my iPhone?
A: If you get a replacement device, or upgrade your device, you may transfer your Storyville subscription by restoring the iTunes backup of Storyville to the new device.  You will need to login to the App on the new device with your username and password.

Q: What happens if I install the app to a second device?
A: Following Apple’s In App Purchase guidelines, subscription purchases may be used on several personal devices. This means that you may sync another iPhone or iPad to your iTunes account and login using the username and password that you established when you subscribed.

Q: Can I delete stories from the iPhone?
A: Yes. Swipe along the row of the archived story and a red Delete button will appear. Tap the Delete button. Once a story has been deleted it cannot be recovered. Wield your power carefully.

Q: If I want a specific story released before I sign up, can I buy it?
A: Not at this time. But that’s a brilliant idea. Thanks (and noted)!

Sharing your discovery of a story

Q: How do I share a story I just read with my friends?
A: We ask you to register your subscription with Facebook Connect and your Twitter account when you download the Storyville app. You can share a story with the Share button in each story.

Q: Is the story sent?
A: No. Friends have to buy the App to read the story. What is sent it a message that you’ve read the particular story. We encourage you to share discovery of stories that you like on Storyville. Sharing the discovery of a new voice, or a touching or moving story, is a gift you can give to a friend. If you don’t like a story, well, you can share that too.

Upcoming Stories