Little Brown
Edith Pearlman
“Her Cousin Jamie”

“Her Cousin Jamie” is from Edith Pearlman’s newest short story collection, “HONEYDEW” (Little Brown, 2014), which has been published to wide acclaim.  Edith Pearlman has published more than 250 works of short  fiction and non-fiction in national magazines, literary journals, anthologies, and on-line publications. Her work has appeared in Best American Short Stories, The O. Henry Prize Stories, and New Stories from the South.


Her first collection of stories, Vaquita, won the Drue Heinz Prize for Literature and was published by the University of Pittsburgh University Press in 1996. Her second, Love Among The Greats (Eastern Washington University Press, 2002) won the Spokane Annual Fiction Prize. Her third collection, How to Fall, was published by Sarabande Press in 2005 and won the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction.  Her fourth collection, Binocular Vision: New and Selected Stories, was published in January 2011 by Lookout Books.


Praise for her new collection:


“…Pearlman is our greatest living American short story writer, and “Honeydew” is her best collection yet.”

– The Boston Globe


“Edith Pearlman is the best short story writer in the world. A lot of people know that. More will.”

– The London Times


“A generous collection of depth and sensitivity featuring a range of unusual characters.”

– O, the Oprah Magazine


“Honeydew should cement [Pearlman’s] reputation as one of the most essential short story visionaries of our time.”

– The New York Times


“Even though [Pearlman’s] characters have feet of clay like the rest of us, they often seem to float above the ordinary world like the figures in a Chagall painting… What a pleasure to encounter a writer who can speak volumes in a few short sentences.”

– The Seattle Times

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Stories