The Suicide Club
University of Georgia Press
Toni Graham
“God’s Playground”

“God’s Playground” is from Toni Graham’s latest collection, THE SUICIDE CLUB (University of Georgia Press, 2015). The collection won the prestigeous Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction, 2014. Her work has appeared in many literary journals, including, American Fiction, Arroyo Literary Review, Ascent, Beloit Fiction Journal, Mississippi Review, and Passages North. She serves as editor and fiction editor for the Cimarron Review.


Her other books include WAITING FOR ELVIS (Leapfrog Press, 2005) and THE DAIQUIRI GIRLS (University of Massachusetts Press, 1998).


The people in these eight interlaced stories are “bound together by the worst sort of grief,” the kind that can devour you after someone close takes his or her own life.


Publisher’s Weekly said of the book: Graham’s third collection of stories is a poignant and darkly humorous look at life after loss. Interlaced narratives reveal the bonds that form in a “suicide survivors'” support group led by Dr. Jane McAllister, who appeared in Graham’s previous books. The members of the Suicide Club feel like outsiders in Hope Springs, Okla.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Stories