Music For Wartime
Rebecca Makkai
Other Brands Of Poison (First Legend)

“Other Brands Of Poison (First Legend)” is from Rebecca Makkai’s new collection, MUSIC FOR WARTIME (Viking, 2014). Her short fiction has appeared in Harper’s, Tin House, the New England Review, and elsewhere and was chosen for The Best American Short Stories for four consecutive years (2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008). Makkai novel, The Hundred-Year House, won the Chicago Writers Association’s Novel of the Year award, and The Borrower, was a Booklist Top Ten Debut.


The collection has been highly praised.


“Rebecca Makkai writes about truly odd women – not hackneyed good-girls-gone-bad, but women who turn out to be surprisingly hard-assed, or unexpectedly breakdown-adjacent, or a little bit mean. They do not classify easily as either likable or unlikable. They operate outside that too-simple, and much debated dichotomy. Sometimes they operate outside of morality too.” -– The Guardian.

“Rebecca Makkai is a rising literary star, whose short stories appeared just about everywhere, before she turned to writing novels. So this is an exciting and exceptional return to the short story for Makkai, and for all of us.” –- Vanity Fair


“Haunting . . . Seventeen stories with the impact of a quiver of arrows aimed at the heart.” —


“The stories are haunting and enchanting, wonderfully strange, and unforgettably gorgeous.” — Book Riot (The Best Books of 2015 So Far)

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Stories