The Dark and Other Love Stories
W. W. Norton
Deborah Willis
“The Dark”

“The Dark” is from Deborah Willis’s collection, THE DARK AND OTHER LOVE STORIES (W.W. Norton, 2107). Willis’s fiction has appeared in Grain, Event, Prism International, The Walrus, and Zoetrope. Her first book, Vanishing and Other Stories, was named one of The Globe and Mail’s Best Books of 2009, and was nominated for the Governor General’s Award and the BC Book Prize. She lives in Canada.


Priase for the collection:


“Willis is an immensely talented writer, and her new collection is a thing of beauty: sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes funny, always sharply observed, elegant and incisive.” — Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven


“The Dark and Other Love Stories is an exhilarating book—funny and fearless, empathetic and sharp—and Deborah Willis is a dazzlingly smart and strikingly original writer. I didn’t want this book to end.” — Molly Antopol, author of The UnAmericans


“These poignant, sharply observed stories examine love in its many guises. A marvelous collection.” — Kirstin Valdez Quade, author of Night at the Fiestas

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Upcoming Stories